Who Is The Longest Serving Governor General Of India?

Who was the best Viceroy of India?

Top 15 British Viceroys of IndiaViceroy # 1.

Lord Canning as First Viceroy, (1858-62):Viceroy # 2.

Lord Elgin (1862-63):Viceroy # 3.

Sir John Lawrence, (1864-69):Viceroy # 4.

Lord Mayo, (1869-72):Viceroy # 5.

Lord Northbrook, (1872-76):Viceroy # 6.

Lord Lytton, (1876-80):Viceroy # 7.

Lord Ripon (1880-84):Viceroy # 8.

Lord Dufferin, (1884-88):More items….

Which Viceroy has longest tenure in India?

Lord LinlithgowNotes: Lord Linlithgow served as the viceroy of India from 1936 to 1943. His seven years tenure made him the longest-serving Viceroy of India.

What is difference between Governor and Governor General?

Governors-General and Viceroys were the main administrative cogs of British India who saw to it that the “Jewel in the Crown” of the British Empire….Difference Between Governor-General and Viceroy.Governor-GeneralViceroyChakravarti Rajagopalachari was the last Governor-GeneralLord Louis Mountbatten was the last Viceroy6 more rows•Dec 11, 2020

Which post did C rajagopalachari never hold?

We want you to help us in many ways. The burden on some of us is more than we can carry.” Rajagopalachari then served as Governor-General of India from June 1948 until 26 January 1950, and was not only the last Governor-General of India, but the only Indian national ever to hold the office.

Which viceroy was killed in India?

Richard BourkeRichard Bourke, the Earl of Mayo. He was made viceroy of India and was assassinated there in 1872. One evening in the radio room of the Aronda, I heard a weak, hoarse call in Morse code on the international calling frequency. It was obviously from a low-powered transmitter.

Why was Lord Mayo killed?

2 (2009): 1–19. In February 1872, Lord Mayo, Governor-General of India, was assassinated at the penal settlement of Port Blair in the Andaman Islands whilst paying a viceregal visit to the Province of British Burma.

Who is the 2nd Governor General of India?

Upon independence in August 1947, the title of viceroy was abolished. The representative of the British Sovereign became known once again as the governor-general. C. Rajagopalachari became the only Indian governor-general.

Who was the first and only Indian Governor General?

Chakravarti RajagopalachariNew Delhi: Chakravarti Rajagopalachari, popularly known as Rajaji, was independent India’s first Indian Governor General. He was also the last one.

Who is the first woman governor of India?

Sarojini Naidu was the first female to become the governor of an Indian state. She governed Uttar Pradesh from 15 August 1947 to 2 March 1949. Her daughter, Padmaja Naidu, is the longest-serving female governor with 11-year tenure in West Bengal.

Which viceroy of India has no left arm?

Robert Bulwer-Lytton, 1st Earl of LyttonHis Excellency The Right Honourable The Earl of Lytton GCB GCIE PCBorn8 November 1831Died24 November 1891 (aged 60)NationalityBritishPolitical partyConservative19 more rows

Who was the viceroy of the British India during 1869 1872?

Lord MayoViceroys in India from 1858 to 1947ViceroyTenureLord Lawrence1864 – 1869Lord Mayo1869 – 1872Lord Northbrook1872 – 1876Lord Lytton1876 – 188016 more rows